PDA

View Full Version : Lt. Michael Murphy

blueseas
15 October 2006, 22:03
As you can see this is my first time posting here although I have been reading these boards for several years now. For anyone who is in the Long Island area the Patchogue Post Office Dedication for Lt. Michael Murphy will be held on Tuesday, October 24 @11:00 a.m. Such a great honor for a true American hero.

Okay got that first post over with, maybe the second one will be eaiser!!

Kath

blueseas
15 October 2006, 22:17
So sorry I thought that little winkie eye was going by my name, tried to remove it. So, so sorry. kath

Typhoon
15 October 2006, 22:21
I recall how Patchogue came out to honor Lt. Murphy at his funeral. It was a moving experience to see the pictures from that day. I am glad to hear of the dedication of the federal building in his honor.

JustANavyMom
16 October 2006, 17:58
As you can see this is my first time posting here although I have been reading these boards for several years now. For anyone who is in the Long Island area the Patchogue Post Office Dedication for Lt. Michael Murphy will be held on Tuesday, October 24 @11:00 a.m. Such a great honor for a true American hero.

Okay got that first post over with, maybe the second one will be eaiser!!

Kath

Thanks for that info Kath

NYDoorkicker
27 October 2006, 13:23
http://www.newsday.com/news/local/longisland/ny-liseal254947209oct25,0,7519471.story

Fallen Naval officer honored

BY BART JONES
Newsday Staff Writer

October 25, 2006

After Michael P. Murphy became a Navy SEAL, he spoke with his father about the dangers he faced - and why he wouldn't back down.

"Dad, I'm not trying to die," his father, Daniel Murphy, of Patchogue, recalled his son saying. "But I want you to know that I love what I do. And God forbid the worst should happen, understand it will have happened doing what I love."