PDA

View Full Version : Getting Started? Armorer

burma96
26 June 2009, 17:14
Hello All,

Please could anybody let me know what qualifications are acceptable these days to work in the industry as an Armorer/maintainer or Instructor? Especially like to know what extra quals would make a person more employable and what licensing would be required as i'm not a US citizen. Any info much appreciated.

Thanks

Small Arms ...... itchy backs!

Silverbullet
26 June 2009, 19:25
What industry?

burma96
26 June 2009, 19:56
SB,

Apologies, was a bit too vague there. I have very little knowledge of PMC Armorer's and how they get qualified. Anything related to this would be useful. Not too sure what types of Armorer positions there are out there either so just researching as much as i can and seeing what would be best suited to me and the skills i have already.

Thanks

Silverbullet
26 June 2009, 21:10
Contact armorer1.

He should be able to help you.

yojinbukai
27 June 2009, 03:46
There are a few armorer positions out there, especially for WPPS and the companies that have those contracts. Iraqgunz is one, for certain. I was the HDSOC armorer for some time. If you're a .mil qualified armorer then you're certainly better off than most. You'll still need to attend the factory sponsored armorer courses for various weapons though. There are field courses given by most factories, at numerous locations and dates around the country.

Expect to renew your certs every 2 - 3 years, depending on the company. Courses range from $150 for a 1 day to $750 - 1000 for multiple days. Many are available to anyone with a dealer's license or LE letterhead. Some are restricted courses.

armorer1
27 June 2009, 18:40