SOCNET

Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > General Topics > Weapons

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2 July 2018, 17:20
Expatmedic's Avatar
Expatmedic Expatmedic is offline
Anesthetized User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 3,837
M-1 Garand Ammo Question...

I have ran across a few forum postings on various sites that state it may be unsafe to shoot standard 30-06 ammo out of a Garand.

Can I get the lowdown on this?

Thanks.
__________________
Support SOCNET.

It don't come easy.--Ringo Starr

"And all that remains is the faces and the names of the wives and the sons and the daughters."--Gordon Lightfoot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2 July 2018, 17:29
EchoFiveMike's Avatar
EchoFiveMike EchoFiveMike is offline
Make a desert and call it peace.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: back home, IVO chicago
Posts: 8,952
Many hunting and other loads for the 30-06 use powders that are too slow for the gas system in the M1 Garand. They're perfectly safe from a chamber pressure standpoint, but too slow, resulting in excessive gas port pressure which can bend the op rod.

If reloading, use powders no slower than 4320, with IMR 4895, 4064 and Win 748, as well as similar rate powders being ideal. S/F....Ken M
__________________
"If you remember nothing else about what I’m about to consider here, remember this: the one and only reason politicians, bureaucrats, and policemen want to take your weapons away from you is so that they can do things to you that they couldn’t do if you still had your weapons."— L. Neil Smith

“The consolidation of the states into one vast empire, sure to be aggressive abroad and despotic at home, will be the certain precursor of ruin which has overwhelmed all that preceded it.”
- Robert E. Lee
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2 July 2018, 17:37
Expatmedic's Avatar
Expatmedic Expatmedic is offline
Anesthetized User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 3,837
Thanks E5M. I have some Varget and RL 15 to try.
__________________
Support SOCNET.

It don't come easy.--Ringo Starr

"And all that remains is the faces and the names of the wives and the sons and the daughters."--Gordon Lightfoot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2 July 2018, 18:34
Gunk's Avatar
Gunk Gunk is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Montana
Posts: 660
My M1 is in .308 so I dodged this problem.

In 30-06 most people do not run standard commercial ammo. The concern is that higher operating pressures in modern ammo will bend the op rod and damage the action. I'd recommend buying ammo from CMP and there are some special M1 specific commercial ammo offerings too. If you go on the M1 forums and reload you can get some solid advice there too.
This is a link to the CMP forum relating to Ammo.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6 July 2018, 09:38
Streck-Fu's Avatar
Streck-Fu Streck-Fu is online now
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 2,371
I bought a bunch of the CMP ammo years ago and now reload hte brass as I shoot them. I use 165gr Sierra Gamekings on H4895 (I don't recall the powder load but can look it up).

Everything posted above about damaging the op-rod is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1 August 2018, 20:21
Steve40th Steve40th is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Charleston, South Carolina
Posts: 1,517
I have been searching ammo for mine too, and found a few companiez are making Garand Specific. Prvi makes some..
https://www.targetsportsusa.com/prvi...-p-107668.aspx
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1 August 2018, 21:17
John Simpson's Avatar
John Simpson John Simpson is offline
Been There Done That
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Expatmedic View Post
Thanks E5M. I have some Varget and RL 15 to try.

The CMP sells Hornady A-MAX at their E-Store specifically for use in .30-06.



You don't have to buy it from them but you can't do much better than Hornady ammo.


They list it as Vintage Match by the way.
__________________
Interesting...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1 August 2018, 21:56
Attila175 Attila175 is offline
BTDT
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Too far
Posts: 1,753
there is an adjustable gas plug you gan get for the Garand. It allows you to tune gas volume.
__________________
RLTW
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Our new posting rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 22:03.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Socnet.com All Rights Reserved
© SOCNET 1996-2018