SOCNET

Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > General Topics > Weapons

Old 18 December 2018, 23:18
Been There Done That

6.5 Creedmor

Well, Steyr just came out with a 6.5 creedmor version of one of my favorite platforms - the Steyr Scout. I do like the slightly better ballistics and lower recoil compared to the. .308. But I question if worth the increase in cost of ammo, as seems the 6.5 rounds selling for about doublecthst if .308.

So who here is a fan of the 6.5?
Old 18 December 2018, 23:41
Anesthetized User

I have been shooting and reloading this cartridge for 3 years. It is simply outstanding. Forgiving to load for. With my load data, I am driving the 140SMK around 2850FPS, zero pressure signs, with an under maximum dose of Reloder 17. Easily stays supersonic to 1K.

The 6.5 Creedmoor is also an excellent hunter. Hunters are using this with success against Elk. Make accurate shots and this cartridge will do fine.

Take look at the ballistics of the 7MM Rem Mag. The CM really shines compared to other bigger cartridges.

Very good projectiles for 6.5's these days. BC's of over 500 is common, with a few in the high 600's.

Front Sight Bang has shot my rifle and liked it. He might chime in.

We each scored 1st round hits on a body sized steel at 1K.

It don't come easy.--Ringo Starr

"And all that remains is the faces and the names of the wives and the sons and the daughters."--Gordon Lightfoot.

Last edited by Expatmedic; 18 December 2018 at 23:51.
Old 19 December 2018, 00:17
BTDT