SOCNET

Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > General Topics > The Lounge

Closed Thread

Old 4 July 2018, 02:22
Six Minutes!

"Those" vets

Everyone knows a few.

I respect all servicemen. We all enlisted with a blank check, we didn't know the future, and didn't have much sway on where we would be deployed and in what circumstances.

There are however "those guys" who feel some kind of inadequacy for there periods of service or MOS's, especially if they were never deployed. They tend to go overboard with the "I'm a Vet" and "I volunteer for Vets" thing.

With my employer, there aren't many vets. Maybe like 4 or 5 in 400.

My company recently hired a gung ho Army vet who served from 1994-1998. He served at Ft. Gordon, Ft. Hood, and Ft. Polk.

I have no problems with this guy, his service, or his job performance. His POV is a rolling smorgassboard of POW/MIA Veteran, "thank a Vet" etc. bumper stickers.

However, when introducing himself, within the first 30 seconds of talking to him, he makes you aware that he is a vet, and volunteers at the VA to help vets... Good on him...

When I first talked to him, he introduced himself to me as an Army vet, and the usual questions and correspondence applied- "me too, what was your MOS, where were you stationed, etc".
He has since latched on to me, seeking me out when I am in his AO, trying to talk to me about the Army. The last time was when I decided to throw the glove on the table.

He asked me "are you in the American Legion? Do you want a free meal on the 4th? They're giving us a free meal on the 4th, wanna go? I'll "sponsor" you."

I replied, "No, I'm in the VFW... I usually only hang out at the VFW... are you a member there?"

"No", he sheepishly replied, "I tried to get back in after 9-11 but waiver... medical... etc"