Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > Areas of Expertise > Technology and Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5 January 2018, 00:25
Jim1348 Jim1348 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: US
Posts: 124
Windows 10 Home Update

Okay, computer guys, I am looking for some helpful suggestions here. My Gateway DX4860 desktop computer is running Windows 10 Home Version 14393. It states that the current version is 16299. When I try to update it, it eventually gives up and goes back to 14393. I have Googled this and tried the various suggestions on line, but I still get the same result.

Should I continue to try and upgrade to 16299 or should I just remain with 14393? I computer is probably 5 years old and perhaps I should consider buying something a bit newer. The tightwad in me things that since this is still working, I should keep it going.

There is a Micro Center near me and I certainly can bring it there. I am just on the fence whether it is worth putting any money into something this old.

What do you guys think?

Last edited by Jim1348; 5 January 2018 at 00:38.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5 January 2018, 03:53
wildman43's Avatar
wildman43 wildman43 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: california
Posts: 1,537
I didn't know they still made a Gateway computer, If I remember right the free up grade is NO more, you have to pay for it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5 January 2018, 08:10
Saw7616 Saw7616 is offline
Nexus Schemer
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CLT
Posts: 570
I’ve seen this feature update fail in the past. You can download the creator update I think it’s called manually and install it without windows update.

Start here see what it does for you
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.the...al-install-now

That was a quick search to get you an answer quickly. If it doesn’t get you there post up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5 January 2018, 09:44
Polypro's Avatar
Polypro Polypro is offline
BTDT
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: A Noisy Bar In Avalon
Posts: 12,529
No idea - sounds like typical Windows snafu's that take 3 days to even find an answer on, then it still doesn't work.

Personally, I'd get a new SSD and buy Windows 10 and install new. Gateway is old school - if you have ~$500, you can put together a pretty kick ass AMD Ryzen 3 system (and that's with 8Gb RAM, 460Gb SSD, and 1050GT graphics - you can go even less expensive).

If you already have an copy of Windows 10 install media, you can get Activation keys on Kinguin for ~$30.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5 January 2018, 15:36
wildman43's Avatar
wildman43 wildman43 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: california
Posts: 1,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polypro View Post
No idea - sounds like typical Windows snafu's that take 3 days to even find an answer on, then it still doesn't work.

Personally, I'd get a new SSD and buy Windows 10 and install new. Gateway is old school - if you have ~$500, you can put together a pretty kick ass AMD Ryzen 3 system (and that's with 8Gb RAM, 460Gb SSD, and 1050GT graphics - you can go even less expensive).

If you already have an copy of Windows 10 install media, you can get Activation keys on Kinguin for ~$30.
I agree with you on this a New Computer is the best way to go.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11 January 2018, 06:44
Paul85 Paul85 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Posts: 1,025
It's hard to say anything without install log.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12 January 2018, 07:33
Polypro's Avatar
Polypro Polypro is offline
BTDT
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: A Noisy Bar In Avalon
Posts: 12,529
BTW, just built the wife a new computer. Used a 460Gb Sandisk SSD Plus for $130 off Amazon. Made a fresh USB installer drive with the newest Win10 from here:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10

(I had a key)

Like buttah, easy peasy.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16 January 2018, 05:34
Paul85 Paul85 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Posts: 1,025
Jim. Your Gateway has i5-2320 plus 8GB RAM? If so, and if you don't want to pay for a new PC and you don't use it for demanding tasks you could just buy an SSD, clone existing disk on it and use the PC further. Did you manage to resolve the error?

If you're stuck with it buy an SSD, install fresh Win10, connect old disk via USB-SATA adapter or just plug it as a second (non-bootable) one, transfer the data you need and forget about the whole ordeal.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16 January 2018, 12:35
wildman43's Avatar
wildman43 wildman43 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: california
Posts: 1,537
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul85 View Post
Jim. Your Gateway has i5-2320 plus 8GB RAM? If so, and if you don't want to pay for a new PC and you don't use it for demanding tasks you could just buy an SSD, clone existing disk on it and use the PC further. Did you manage to resolve the error?

If you're stuck with it buy an SSD, install fresh Win10, connect old disk via USB-SATA adapter or just plug it as a second (non-bootable) one, transfer the data you need and forget about the whole ordeal.
Will the mother board support the SSD ???
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16 January 2018, 15:33
Paul85 Paul85 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Posts: 1,025
Well, he should open his particular model (I'm not familiar with Gateways) and check for SATA ports. If they are there, he should be fine with most SSDs he inserts. If the mobo lacks ports he might actually think about changing the PC. Some revisions/subversions of this model have 6 onboard SATA ports. The version I mentioned in my previous post, the one with i5-2320 (DX4860-UB33P) has 1TB SATA HDD preinstalled. If he has another version...well...then he'll have to rethink my proposition
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17 January 2018, 16:48
wildman43's Avatar
wildman43 wildman43 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: california
Posts: 1,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul85 View Post
Well, he should open his particular model (I'm not familiar with Gateways) and check for SATA ports. If they are there, he should be fine with most SSDs he inserts. If the mobo lacks ports he might actually think about changing the PC. Some revisions/subversions of this model have 6 onboard SATA ports. The version I mentioned in my previous post, the one with i5-2320 (DX4860-UB33P) has 1TB SATA HDD preinstalled. If he has another version...well...then he'll have to rethink my proposition
The problem he would have is the wiring connections, I have 3 gateways in the pass an kept the Dard drives, I looked at them an the HP SSD hard drive I have, I don't thing it will work.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17 January 2018, 17:53
Paul85 Paul85 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Gdynia, Poland
Posts: 1,025
We'd need Jim to speak up about what he saw inside his PC in terms of SATA ports. Maybe he has only IDE (the big broad one with pins).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Our new posting rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 13:44.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Socnet.com All Rights Reserved
SOCNET